Department of Political Science Faculty

Our faculty, many of whom are internationally recognized for their scholarly contributions, seek to create an environment for graduate education that facilitates innovative scholarship using a multitude of different types of methodologies. 


Richard Chadwick

Professor
Office: Saunders 616
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7180
Email: chadwick@hawaii.edu
International Relations, Global Modeling

Kathy Ferguson

Professor
Office: Saunders 640E
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6933
Email: kferguso@hawaii.edu
Political Theory, Feminist Theory, Anarchism

Petrice Flowers

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 612
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8494
Email: pflowers@hawaii.edu
International Norms, Laws, Relations; Japan

Jonathan Goldberg-Hiller

Professor
Office: Saunders 632B
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8563
Email: hiller@hawaii.edu
Law and Society/Philosophy, Indigenous Politics

Noelani Goodyear-Kaʻōpua

Professor, Department Chair
Office: Saunders 634A
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8928
Email: goodyear@hawaii.edu
Hawai’i, Indigenous Feminisms, Sovereignty

Jairus Grove

Associate Professor, Graduate Chair
Office: Saunders 617A
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8743
Email: jairusg@hawaii.edu
War Studies, Complexity & System Theory

Nicole Grove

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 640
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8357
Email: nsgrove@hawaii.edu
IR, Technology, Security, Gender, Middle East

Debora Halbert

Professor
Office: Sinclair Annex 1 Rm 5
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-9404
Email: halbert@hawaii.edu
Intellectual Property, Copyright, Futures, Law

Manfred Henningsen

Professor
Office: Saunders 605
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8733
Email: hennings@hawaii.edu
Political Philosophy & Theory, European Politics

Katharina Heyer

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 615
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7512
Email: heyer@hawaii.edu
Social Movements, Disability, Human Rights

Ehito Kimura

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 610
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8630
Email: ehito@hawaii.edu
Comparative Politics, Southeast Asian Politics

Sankaran Krishna

Professor
Office: Saunders 640D
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8841
Email: krishna@hawaii.edu
International Relations, Postcolonial Studies

Lawrence Nitz

Professor
Office: Saunders 633A
Telephone:1 (808) 956-8665
Email: lnitz@hawaii.edu
American Politics, Methods, Public Policy

Jamaica Heolimeleikalani Osorio

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 634B
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8171
Email: osorio2@hawaii.edu
Moʻolelo, Aloha ʻĀina, Indigenous Theory

Michael Shapiro

Professor
Office: Saunders 606
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8628
Email: shapiro@hawaii.edu
American Politics, Media and Popular Culture

Noenoe Silva

Professor
Office: Saunders 640C
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8030
Email: noenoe@hawaii.edu
Hawaiian Politics, Language Revitalization

Nevzat Soguk

Professor
Office: Saunders 619
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8929
Email: nevzat@hawaii.edu
States, Migration, Political Movements

Carolyn Stephenson

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 618
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8195
Email: cstephen@hawaii.edu
International, Peace, Conflict Resolution

Sarah Marie Wiebe

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 633B
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3688
Email: swiebe@hawaii.edu
Environmental Justice, Political Ecology

Myungji Yang

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 611
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8362
Email: myang4@hawaii.edu
Social Classes, Social Movements, Korea

Kate Zhou

Professor
Office: Saunders 609
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8777
Email: katezhou@hawaii.edu
Comparative Politics, Chinese Political Economy

Retired and Emeritus Faculty